SUPPORTING GREAT TELEVISION

Be It Resolved: Updating My 2011 Watch List

In Tidbits on February 15, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Louie (Louis C.K.) in “Louie’s” “Poker/Divorce” episode. (Screen cap)

I resolved to watch more television this year, beginning with The Good Wife, Justified and Louie – three series I’d read about but never seen.

I’ve now watched each show’s first six episodes.

My take on each:

The Good Wife. Better than I expected but not great. Sorry Wife; I know everyone loves you – and I gave your show a try – but I’m just not that into you.

Justified. Initially, I was mesmerized by Timothy Olyphant’s performance as heroic federal marshal Raylan Givens. But as the season progressed, I found it increasingly hard to believe a smart guy like Raylan would continually get tangled up with that unappealing Ava Crowder (Joelle Carter).

Louie. My favorite among these three and the only one I plan to keep watching. A spiritual descendent of Curb Your Enthusiasm and just as absurd, yet somehow real, too. Give Louie a try – if you haven’t already.

Leave a Reply

