SUPPORTING GREAT TELEVISION

A History of Violet II: More Quips from Downton’s Dowager

In Tidbits on February 2, 2011 at 8:00 am

This poor woman feels as if she’s living in an H.G. Wells novel. (Screen cap)

Dowager Countess Violet Crawley (Dame Maggie Smith) delivered more zingers in the final episodes of PBS’s Downton Abbey:

• “Is she making a suit of armor?”

Upon learning cousin Isobel borrowed “nitrate of silver” and “tincture of steel” to treat the valet Molesley

• “She reads too many novels.… Everyone goes down the aisle with half the story hidden.”

After learning that granddaughter Mary planned to confess a past indiscretion to almost-fiancé Matthew

• “I was right about my maid: She’s leaving – to get married. I mean, how can she be so selfish?”

• “First electricity, now telephones. Sometimes I feel as if I were living in an H.G. Wells novel.”

Reacting to the latest changes at Downton Abbey

• “What have I done wrong now?”

Responding to Isobel’s huffiness

• “Your quarrel is with my daughter Rosamund, not me. So put that in your pipe and smoke it.”

Matching wits with Isobel, yet again

Leave a Reply

