SUPPORTING GREAT TELEVISION

Say You Want a Resolution? My TV Goals for the New Year

In Tidbits on January 4, 2011 at 8:00 pm

Julianna Margulies of “The Good Wife.” (Photo by Justin Stephens/CBS)

I usually make my new year’s resolutions well in advance of January 1, but this one didn’t occur to me until today: I pledge to watch more television in 2011.

Believe it or not, I don’t consume much TV to begin with.

I’m well below 2010’s weekly average – 34 hours! – and there were tons of shows on the year-end best-of lists that I’ve never heard of (Archer?).

So I’ve decided to sample three shows in 2011:

The Good Wife. I’ve always dismissed this CBS drama as the kind of show that only menopausal women watch. Maybe I’m wrong.

Justified. This FX drama about federal marshals is one of the shows that I didn’t even know existed until recently.

Louie. I liked Louis C.K. on Parks and Recreation; how did I miss his FX comedy?

I’ll give these three a try and report back in a few weeks.

Stay tuned!

  1. […] resolved to watch more television this year, beginning with The Good Wife, Justified and Louie – three series I’d read about but never […]

Leave a Reply

